Victory in the Pacific
PBEM Rules and Format
Questions & Clarifications

Dice Questions

Q.1 [6/99] What if my opponent rolls too many dice?
A. The extra rolls should be ignored.

Q.2 [6/99] What if my opponent doesn't roll enough dice for what he's specified?
A. Use the dice rolled for as many results as possible. Ask your opponent to roll enough additional dice to finish interpreting the result.

Q.3 [7/99] What if the layout of the dice does not match the comments? 
A. This answer is relevant only to dice servers whose results are laid out in a row/column pattern which is critical in determining the meaning of the results.  If there are exactly the right number of dice to match the layout described in the comments, the dice should be read across and then down as if they were in the right layout. For example, a request whose comments imply dice in 4 columns but shows up as follows:

   2     6
   4     5
   6     1
   3     2

would be read as:

   2     6     4     5
   6     1     3     2

Another example, suppose the dice request calls for two columns but arrives in four. In that case, the second set of numbers shown above would be read as if it were laid out like first set of numbers shown above.

Any other layout error should result in a re-roll.

Q.4 [1/10] What if the comments that arrive with the dice clearly identify some attacks but not others?
A. This is considered an error.  Most often this will result in a complete re-roll.  However, if it's possible to a) use the clearly identified dice as rolled, b) re-roll only those which were not clear, and c) not offer your opponent new decisions which could be affected by the dice being kept, then and only then should you consider allowing a partial re-roll.

Q.5 [1/05] The dice server,, used to be heavily used in the PBEM tournaments.  Why has it been de-certified?
A. Unfortunately, this particular server occasionally begins re-using the same random seed for multiple dice requests -- meaning that the same dice are generated for each request.  Reliable dice servers occasionally go down, but they don't send out bad results as this one does!  Those who still wish to use may do so if their opponent agrees AND they request the dice twice -- with the second request labeled as the "official results."  If both requests return the same result, both are discarded.  Otherwise, the second is used.

Q.6 [1/16] What if my opponent doesn't receive the dice from the dice server?
A. If you didn't email (the dice archive), there's nothing you can do except re-roll.  If you did, you can email the GM and request a copy of the emailed dice.  The GMs of War at Sea and Victory in the Pacific, with permission, use the others' dice archive for their own games.  Lost email happens to me about once in every 6-8 games (which is approximately 1% of dice requests).

Q.7 [1/16] What if the dice request doesn't come back?
A. First, ask the GM for the dice archive's copy (see Q.6).  But, if neither you nor your opponent have received the dice and you both agree OR it's been 24 hours since the dice request, send a test dice request.  If you get the test back (see Q.9) and the original dice request still hasn't returned, then re-issue the request.  I strongly recommend identifying such requests as 2nd (or 3rd) and stating what is to happen if earlier requests come back.  I recommend making the last request authoritative (since there's no way the original request can contain such description); these instructions are binding.

Q.8 [1/16] What if multiple dice requests are made and return, but the one identified as authoritative contains an error?  Do we use the other?
A. No.  Once a dice request identifies another dice request as invalid (if it's prior to the dice coming back), that invalidated request can no longer be used even if it comes back and even if the identifying request is invalid.  Treat this as if the non-authoritative dice request had never been made or returned.

Q.9 [1/16] What if the dice server is down?
A. First, send a test request to the dice server to verify that it's not responding.  Please do not contact the owner of the dice server.  We risk losing their services if we pester them.  If it is down, contact the GM and have him make a single contact with the owner of the dice server on behalf of all PBEM players.

Q.10 [1/10 & 1/16] The same dice request was sent more than once without any indication of which has precedence.  Which do we use or is a re-roll necessary?
A. When there's an accidental re-send or an unidentified re-roll, the results with the earliest final timestamp are used.  For example, the following could be returned by (in the first attachment):

Received: from raspberrypi (localhost []) by raspberrypi (8.14.4/8.14.4/Debian-4) with ESMTP id u0JIcsON015494 for <dice@localhost>; Tue, 19 Jan 2016 18:38:54 GMT
Received: from [] by raspberrypi with POP3 (fetchmail-6.3.21) for <dice@localhost> (single-drop); Tue, 19 Jan 2016 18:38:54 +0000 (UTC)
Received: by with SMTP id u41csp2815683iou; Tue, 19 Jan 2016 10:33:35 -0800 (PST)
Received: from ( []) by with ESMTPS id w64si42781499pfi.202.2016. for <> (version=TLS1_2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 bits=128/128); Tue, 19 Jan 2016 10:33:35 -0800 (PST)
Received: from ([]) by : HOSTING RELAY : with SMTP id Lb5yalzamKD5mLb5yaL75E; Tue, 19 Jan 2016 11:33:34 -0700
Received: from [] (port=25279 helo=Tricorder) by with esmtpsa (TLSv1.2:DHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:256) (Exim 4.85) (envelope-from <>) id 1aLb5y-0005Gr-DC for; Tue, 19 Jan 2016 11:33:34 -0700
Subject: Test
From: "John Pack" <>
To: <>
Message-ID: <004a01d152e7$e6edeb50$b4c9c1f0$>
Date: Tue, 19 Jan 2016 13:33:26 -0500

For, the results begin with:

WaS-VitP Die Roll Results
Tue, 19 Jan 2016 14:29:20 -0700

The timestamp in bold is used to determine which result was earliest.  The results with the earliest timestamp are used.  Note:  This is important because the timestamps are not always in the same sequence (i.e., processing order is not always the same as arrival order).  If the last timestamps are identical, use the next-to-last timestamp (and so on).  If all timestamps are identical (a case I've never encountered), a re-roll will be required.

Q.11 [9/16] Why has been removed from the list of preferred dice servers?
A. Unfortunately, human beings are prone to laziness when it comes to trusting computer generated dice. VWRoller puts a summary of results at the top which encourages players to use it for results instead of the actual dice. This makes errors with respect to the number of dice rolled (too many or too few) and whether or not a bonus is applied to the rolls much less likely to be caught. As a programmer, I am reminded of the "Are you sure?" fallacy -- where users simply learn to hit the save key twice in a row, bypassing the benefit of the question. The summary makes it too easy to miss an error -- even if your opponent has been accurate for the last 40 or 100 dice requests. However, players are free to use this server if their opponent agrees.

Q.12 [9/16] What happens if a player has so many attacks in one area that two (or more) dice requests are needed?
A. A player must specify all attacks before or with the first request. A partial attack without specifying all of the attacks within an area is void. Note: Areas may be rolled in order -- so not all areas of combat must be rolled at once. But a single area may not be split between dice requests without specifying all attacks in advance.

Adjustment Questions

Q.2b-1 [4/22] The phrase "subsequent Location Uncertain Group" implies an order to the Location Uncertain rolls.  Can't I roll Group Z first?
A. No.  The groups must be rolled in sequence W, X, Y, and then Z.

Q.4a-1 [5/13] If a ship with damage is removed to San Diego using this adjustment, when and where does she return?
A. The ship misses the next turn (possibly using repair points); the ship is eligible to return with any turn's reinforcements to the same port where those reinforcements go.  Example:  Saratoga, based at Guadalcanal with 3 damage points, is removed at the end of Turn 2.  She misses Turn 3 and returns, with any repairs, at the start of Turn 4 to Pearl Harbor (with all of the other reinforcements) or to Samoa (if Pearl Harbor has fallen) or not at all (if both Pearl Harbor and Samoa have fallen).

Q.4a-2 [7/15] If I'm using adjustments 3b and 4a, what happens to a ship removed to San Diego on Turn 1 which would normally return with the Turn 3 Reinforcements?  Is that ship trapped in Pearl Harbor?
A. No.  The returning, repaired ships are treated as reinforcements for all purposes (including 3b and 3c).

Q.4a-3 [3/18] Can ships that fail speed rolls, are disabled in combat, or successfully retreat from combat base in San Diego?
A. No.  Ships do not move to San Diego until basing.  However, a ship already in a port/base can move to San Diego during the basing step.

Rules of Play Questions

In general, questions regarding email play of VITP can be answered by considering the face-to-face (FTF) game. The intent of the PBEM VITP system is to mimic the FTF exactly with only a few, specific exceptions (LBA placement and simultaneous resolution of combat areas). There should be no difference whatsoever in any area where it has not been explicitly stated.

Q.3-1 [10/02] The placement of my last LBA is so critical that I'd rather place it by itself. Is that possible?
A. Yes.  First, figure out how many placements you are allowed -- this is the IJN's total available LBA divided by two, rounded up.  Make sure you place all but one LBA in the earlier placements.  Example #1:  The IJN has 5 LBA and, therefore, 3 placements -- place the first four LBA during patrols and the first two placements.  Example #2:  The IJN had 4 LBA and, therefore, 2 placements -- place the first three LBA with patrols or in the first placement.  Note:  The USN never has to place more LBA than the IJN has already placed (which is the same as the FTF game), so this question isn't relevant to the Allies.

Q.3-2 [1/10] Do all of the LBA in a placement have to go to the same sea area?
A. No.  Each LBA can individually go to any sea area where you have a port or base.

Q.3-3 [2/13] Do "total IJN LBA placed" and "total Allied LBA placed" refer to the current placement or the turn so far?
A. To the total which have been placed in all placements (and during patrols) during the turn so far.

Q.9-1 [9/97] How can there be an order of combat if everything is fought simultaneously?
A. Even though combat is fought simultaneously, combat is regarded as if it were finished in the order designated by the IJN in Step 9. In addition, dice should be rolled in the designated order of combat (unless rolled in a single dice server request). Ships from a later battle cannot be air-raided by CVs that remain from an earlier battle. For example, if the order were Coral Sea and then U.S. Mandate, ships from the Mandate which were disabled to New Hebrides could not be targeted during air raids by the carriers in the Coral Sea.  In the case of amphibious units which can have an effect on the units in a second area, the combat of any area designated as later in the order may, in fact, be delayed (at the discretion of either player) until the second round of combat begins in the earlier area.

Q.9-2 [1/06] What order of combat is used if the IJN fails to specify one?
A. Use the order of the areas in the IJN player's first combat dice request.  If attacks from one area are intermingled with those from other areas, then the USN player shall designate the order at the first point where he feels it makes a difference.

Q.9-3 [6/03] The order of battle is South Pacific followed by Indonesia.  After the first round, the IJN retreats from the South Pacific.  The Victorious would normally not pursue to allow the British 0-2-7(2) in Indonesia to survive the end of turn removals.  However, if the British CVL is lost in Indonesia, it would.  Can I delay the decision to pursue in the South Pacific until after Indonesia is resolved?
A. No. Attrition is prohibited as a reason for delaying simultaneous combat resolution.

Q.9-4 [1/04] The IJN will win the U.S. Mandate this turn.  I need to be able to move from Truk through either the South Pacific Ocean or the Marshall Islands next turn.  The Marshalls are first in the combat order.  Can I delay SPO to see if I'll be able to move through the Marshalls next turn (since I'd prefer to shoot at carriers in the SPO over patrollers)?
A. Yes.  The delay is allowed, not because of preferred targeting choices in SPO, but because of the need to secure one viable path to the U.S. Mandate on the next turn.  Note that SPO should proceed as soon as the control situation in the Marshalls is clear.

Q.9-5 [2/14] If, per the notes following Step 16, an area is delayed, can it's day/night rolls be made?
A. No. All aspects of the resolution of a delayed area are also postponed -- including preference rolls.  Any preferences rolls already made are discarded.

Q.9/16-1 [6/98] One player has LBA in both Indonesia and the Marianas with a single base in the Philippines. The order of battle designated by the IJN player is Marianas and then Indonesia. An enemy amphibious unit is in the Marianas. Night action comes up for the Marianas, and the amphibious unit captures the Philippines after the first round of combat. Indonesia gets a day action. Does the Land Based Air from the Philippines get the chance to attack in Indonesia?
A. At the discretion of either player, Indonesia could have been delayed one round (such that combat there would begin at the same time as the second round in the Marianas). If so, the LBA in Indonesia will never get a chance to attack. However, if neither player makes the election to delay the combat, then, yes, the LBA would get the chance to attack. Keep in mind that, in the case of the delay, the day/night selection and rolls for the delayed area are also delayed.  Note that if the Marianas had been designated second in the order of battle both areas could be fought simultaneously since the invasion would not affect the status of the LBA in Indonesia during the battle.

Q.9/16-2 [4/99] Suppose the US holds Guadalcanal and has a Marine sitting on it. In the FTF game, the IJN could resolve combat in the Coral Sea first and, if it had surviving CVs, air raid Guadalcanal and, if it destroyed the Marine, land an SNLF in the Coral Sea to disable any Allied LBA in South Pacific. Unless the combat in the Coral Sea lasts only a single round, the one round delay permitted to resolve marine action will not permit an air raid/invasion in time to stop Allied LBA in the South Pacific from entering combat. Can the South Pacific be delayed until the complete resolution of the Coral Sea, is the Allied LBA effective for the entire South Pacific battle, or does the SNLF landing (and disabling South Pacific LBA) take place in "real time" (with the South Pacific one round behind)?
A. The intent of the amphibious invasion rules are that invasions can occur prior to any combat in other areas that could be directly affected by them. In this case, notify your opponent of your intent and the resolution of the South Pacific combat can be delayed until the Coral Sea effects on the ownership of Guadalcanal are determined.

Q.9/16-3 [4/99] Suppose I am defending Indonesia and Marianas with air units and the Allies have Marines in Indonesia. I expect to win the battle in Indonesia but the Marianas is questionable. I currently control both areas such that if I control them again the Philippines would flip back to IJN control at the end of the turn even if the Allied Marines land at that base. Can I resolve the Marianas first (even though no Marines are present there) so that if I win, I know I don't have to shoot at the Marines in Indonesia?
A. The intent of the system is to mimic FTF play as much as possible (with specific exceptions that are designed to speed the play of the game). In this case, notify your opponent of your reasoning and Indonesia may be delayed until the Marianas has been resolved. Obviously, Indonesia must be designated later in the order of combat.

Q.9/16-4 [8/01] The Allies have a Marine in Indonesia which will probably invade the Philippines. There is also a battle in the Marianas. I'd prefer that none of the ships disabled from the Marianas fight be able to base in the Philippines. Can I delay Indonesia one round, as many rounds as I want, or not at all?
A. If the order of combat designated in Step 9 has the Marianas before Indonesia, then the Philippines is unavailable to units fighting in the Marianas regardless of when combat is rolled. The conversion of the Philippines doesn't technically occur until the Marianas is considered to be finished. On the other hand, if Indonesia is first in the order of combat, the Philippines will be available to ships disabled in the Marianas.  Delays in resolution would not alter this and are, therefore, not allowed in this case.

Q.9/16-5 [4/18] I have two amphibious units in Indonesia.  Which base they invade depends on whether I win a flag in Marianas, South Pacific, or both -- so that I can threaten isolation of the other base next turn.  Can Indonesia be delayed?
A. As long as Indonesia is last in the Step 9 order, yes.  This is a valid "flag isolation effect."

Q.9/16-6 [3/19] The IJN has LBA in the North Pacific together with an NLF to reinforce Dutch Harbor.  The USN has a Marine in the Aleutians.  The NPO is first in the combat order.  Can I delay the Aleutians to see if I can land my NLF at Dutch Harbor?
A. No.  The effect of the Aleutian Marines on the NPO will not take place until after NPO combat is finished, if at all.  This effect will become known at the end of the first round in both areas -- but it doesn't alter how the battle in NPO will be fought or what units will be available to fight.

Q.10-1 [1/16] What if the Allied player did not specify which carriers would use gunnery at night?  Can he still return fire with carriers that were attack by IJN surface units?
A. No.  Carriers which are not specified to be attacking in Step 10 may not attack.

Q.10/11-1 [1/06] The format specifies that each player rolls his own day/night preferences dice.  However, it's common for one player to roll for both.  Which is correct?
A. Either player may freely agree to let his opponent request his day/night preference dice.  However, unless specifically agreed upon, players should assume that the format will be followed and that each player will roll his own dice.

Q.13/14-1 [6/11]When do successfully disengaging ships return to port--at the instant their particular retreat group escapes or only once all retreat/pursuit combat in that area is over?
A. Since basing occurs in Step 15/16, disengaging ships return to port at the end of the round when their group escapes (even if there are still other pursuit groups continuing to fight).  However, an entire round of combat is completed for each pursuit group in Step 13/14 before any basing decisions need to be made.

Q.15/16-1 [5/99] How can I know the results of an area and the basing of my opponent's disabled ships before I go on to fight a battle later in the designated order?
A. This is not an acceptable reason to delay the resolution of combat in an area. The PBEM system specifically and intentionally alters the FTF game in this regard. Disabled ships must base in the Step 15/16 immediately after being disabled and prior to the next round of combat in their area. That means that ships in areas later in the designated order of combat will be basing during the same step as ships in earlier areas -- before the next round of combat (which will affect all areas simultaneously).

Q.15-2 [1/04] Can the IJN wait until after the Allied decision to retreat/stay before deciding whether to use an NLF to invade or not (or to decide which base to invade)?
A. No. However, the IJN can make the decision conditional on the Allied retreat/stay decision.  Note:  This might effect the Allied decision.

Q.15-3 [1/10] The first round of combat is over.  Three areas have more combat, including the area with the I-Boat.  Can I delay the combat in the area that contains the I-Boat by resolving the I-Boat at the same time as the second round of combat in the other two areas?
A. No.  The I-Boat shot is handled in the follow-up step to the combat round.  Your opponent is entitled to know the result of this attack before choosing day/night preferences for the following round in all three areas.  If the I-Boat wishes to wait, it must wait until the end of the next combat round for its next opportunity to attack.

Q.15/16-4 [1/10] Is there any case where combat for one round of a sea area may be conducted simultaneously with a later round's combat for another sea area?
A. There is one one such case.  That is when one area, which is later in the Step 9 combat order, is delayed for a valid reason. Obviously, once rounds are out-of-sync, the later rounds will continue to be out-of-sync.

Q.15/16-5 [1/10] Is the delay of a battle later in the designated order allowable unless it is specifically prohibited by the listed exceptions?  For example, suppose I'm interested in having a way to move into Indonesia next turn.  A victory in either the South Pacific Ocean or Indian Ocean would achieve my objective.  Can I delay the Indian Ocean (later in the order) while the South Pacific Ocean is revolved?
A. In the case of your example, yes.  The simple, general rule is that if there's a reason to delay a later area, other than the convenience of knowing the POC or attrition outcome of or the basing of disabled/withdrawn ships from another area, it's probably a valid reason.  Ask your opponent for the delay and state your reasoning.

Q.15/16-6 [4/13] Can I voluntarily withdraw from an area during steps 15-16 a round or two after the combat in that area has finished (i.e., while waiting for combat in other areas to finish)?
A. No.  The last opportunity to withdraw from an area is the step 15-16 immediately following that area's final combat round.  This decision may not be delayed, even for resolution of areas that are earlier in the Step 9 combat order.  For an area with no combat, this opportunity comes after the first simultaneous combat round (the first Step 15/16 of the turn).

Q.18-1 [10/16] The last round of combat ends.  The Japanese player conducts his invasions, handles POC/flags, and bases his units, completing Step 17.  The USN player still has Marines at sea.  Are they prevented from invading because that's not an option in Step 18?
A. No. The IJN player has rushed ahead (probably to speed up the game) by completing the final Step 16 and Step 18 all at once.  This does not deny any options to the USN player.  The USN player is free to complete all aspects of his final Step 16 before proceeding to Step 18.  Note:  That may include sending the game back to the IJN for re-basing if such an invasion makes the IJN's early attempt at step 17 incomplete.  In such a case, the IJN may not re-base units that were not displaced.

Code of Conduct Questions

Q.1 [1/10] What exactly are my options when I make a mistake?
A. You can require your opponent to accept the most generous interpretation of your mistake from his point-of-view or you can work with him to gain a more equitable resolution.  What's the most generous interpretation?  If you left a unit in port that you wanted to move, it stays in port until the next opportunity to move.  If you failed to shoot at a target or to use the firepower of one of your ships, you lose that attack opportunity.  If you didn't specify the order of the preference dice, your opponent's "roll" is the higher die.  If you didn't specify a combat order, the order is the order in which you rolled your own attacks.  If you didn't specify which ship you were shooting at, your opponent gets to decide which ship was the target.  If you didn't specify which ship was doing the attack, you opponent may assume it was any ship capable of that attack (or, if no ship is capable, that the attack or, some of the dice if you're partially capable of the attack, is invalid).  If you didn't place the I-Boat, it's assumed to be in an area where there are no valid targets.  You'll notice that the options you can force your opponent to take are not attractive.  That's because when you make a mistake, you pay the penalty.  Double-check your actions before hitting "Send."

Q.2 [1/10] What exactly are my options when my opponent makes a mistake?
A. You have almost all of the options.  I encourage you to take the most sporting and fair option you can come up with.  However, you're not required to do so.  a) You can accept the error as originally written and move on to the next step (this is the same as what happens when you don't notice an error) -- though obviously corrections to bring the board back to a legal position are mandatory.  b) Another option is to require a re-roll of the entire round (for example, when an opponent forgets to use some of his ships and asks to be able to use them or when an opponent shoots with seven ships that were disabled last round).  c) You can allow your opponent the solution s/he recommends.  d) You can devise your own solution and offer it to your opponent.  S/he, of course, can reject it in favor of accepting the most generous interpretation of their mistake from your point-of-view (see Q.1).  If the GM is asked to make a ruling, he will require the most generous interpretation or the complete re-roll (depending on the type of mistake).

Q.3 [3/13] What if my opponent forgets to withdraw ships listed on the Removal Schedule?
A. The ships are removed the moment the error is noticed. They cannot return fire (even if they've been attacked) or satisfy any other ship's removal.  Any unit whose position is invalid (ship at enemy port/base, LBA without a base, etc.) is similarly returned to a valid base/port as soon as the error is noticed.

Q.4 [7/16] What happens if email text and a move file (Vassal/Cyberboard/WGP/etc.) contradict?
A. Ideally, the player will contact his opponent and ask which is correct.  However, if a player misses the contradiction, the move file is accepted as authoritative.

Victory in the Pacific® is a registered trademark of The Avalon Hill Game Company.