WAR AT SEA
Official Clarifications

These clarifications come from The Avalon Hill Game Company, from questions and answers compiled by the World Boardgaming Championships/Avaloncon War At Sea Gamemasters during those tournaments, and from the War At Sea PBEM Ladder Tournament and the Boardgame Players Association PBEM Championship Tournaments.

ERRATA TO THE L2 DESIGN GROUP VERSION

British battleship Howe enters the game on turn 5, not turn 6 as printed on its counter and in the Order of Battle on the back of the Rules Book.

CLARIFICATIONS TO THE L2 DESIGN GROUP VERSION

5.7 & 5.8 Can a convoy ending a turn alone in a sea area claim the POC for that sea area even if it puts into port to claim POC at the end of the turn?
A. Yes. In the sequence of play, the placing of control flags takes place before the landing of convoys.

6.3 & 6.4 Can a ship starting the turn in a port bordering 2 or more sea areas attempt to speed roll from one of those areas to another (e.g., from Brest to the North Sea via the South Atlantic)?
A. No.

6.4 Can Axis ships starting the turn in the Neutral Port and failing a speed roll to the North Atlantic return to Germany or Brest?
A. No. The instructions printed on the board sea areas refer to Section 5.7, not Section 6.4. Ships which fail a speed roll must return to their original port or one bordering the second sea area. As there is no port bordering the North Atlantic, they must return to the Neutral Port.

6.4 Can Axis ships starting the turn in Brest and failing a speed roll to the North Atlantic return to Germany?
A. No. Ships which fail a speed roll must return to their original port or one bordering the second sea area. As there is no port bordering the North Atlantic, they must return to Brest.

6.4. Does a player attempting speed rolls have to designate, before rolling, where the ships will base if they fail their speed rolls?
A. No. A player may observe the results of all speed rolls before determining where those ships failing their rolls must base.

6.4, 15.7 & 17.2 Can Axis ships starting the turn in the Neutral Port and failing speed rolls to the Mediterranean on Turn 8 after Italian navy defection rolls return to Italy?
A. Yes. Italy remains an Axis port on Turn 8 even after Italian navy defection rolls.

6.9 The Note after Rule 6.9 states that German ships in the South Atlantic cannot use the oiling rule if they have disengaged. Can German ships in the North Atlantic use the oiling rule if they have disengaged?
A. No.

10 Must a player predesignate all ships as targets of airstrikes, or can he review the results of each attempt before rolling another attack?
A. He may review the results of one attack before rolling another. Rule 10.2 states only that "Targets must be specifically stated before each die roll." However, every airstrike must be against a different ship.

12 After a round of pursuit has been completed, can the disengaging player further split a group of fleeing ships?
A. Yes. However, he cannot recombine previously separated groups.

12.3 & 14.8 Can a convoy pursue a fleeing German ship and still be screened when firing?
A. Yes.

13 & 14.7 Can a convoy which has been disabled to the USA repair before sailing again?
A. Yes. In order to do this, ignore the instruction in 14.7 to remove the disabled convoy from the board and treat it as a replacement.

13.1 & 16.1 Can ships which were successfully oiled at the end of one turn and then placed in a port the next turn be repaired on that turn?
A. No. Relocating them from At Sea to a port is considered moving them.

14.8 If the Allies have a convoy and another ship retreating separately from a sea area, must the Axis damage or disable the other ship before firing on the convoy?
A. No. Each separate retreat and pursuit is its own battle and is not affected by any other pursuit battles.

16.1 Which occurs first, oiling or basing?
A. Oiling occurs before either side bases its ships.

CLARIFICATIONS TO THE AVALON HILL VERSION

2.4 & 6.7 If Italian cruisers are in the North Atlantic at the end of turn 7, where do they return?
A. They are eliminated for a lack of a port to return to! If there at the end of turn 6, they would return to France, where they would be interned and likewise removed from play due to France becoming an inactive port at the start of turn 7. (see question on 5.7)

5.2 Are repair points applied before airstrikes occur?
A. Yes.

5.3 Does the Axis player resolve speed rolls before placing U-boats?
A. Yes.

5.6 Which player picks the order in which sea areas are resolved?
A. The Axis. All combat in each area is completely resolved before resolving the next sea area.

5.62 & 10.2 Are land based airstrikes resolved before naval airstrikes?
A. No. They are resolved at the same time. Also, no ship can be a target more than once per turn from the air even if both land based and naval airstrikes are present in the area

5.62 & 10.3 Are Allied and Axis naval airstrikes simultaneous?
A. Yes. All airstrikes are simultaneous in the same way that surface combat is. The Allied player allocates and resolves his airstrikes before the Axis, but the effects of these airstrikes do not occur until after the Axis airstrikes are allocated and resolved.

5.7 Which player returns his ships to port first?
A. The Axis.

5.7 Where do Italian cruisers in the North Atlantic return to if France is not available as an Axis port?
A. They don't; they are eliminated!. Note also that any Axis ships returning to France at the end of Turn 6 are eliminated immediately and may not sail on Turn 7.

5.7 & 5.8 Can a convoy ending a turn alone in a sea area claim the POC for that sea area even if it puts into port to claim POC at the end of the turn?
A. Yes. In the sequence of play, the placing of control flags takes place before the landing of convoys.

5.7 & 12 Are Allied ships which successfully disengage in the Mediterranean Sea required to go to Malta as if they were disabled?
A. No - they are not disabled. They could return to either Malta or England.

5.7 & 12 Are ships which successfully disengage in the South Atlantic required to go to the Neutral Port as if they were disabled?
A. Axis ships could also go to France (if an active port). German ships may not oil at sea if they have retreated, however. (Note that this is contrary to Avalon Hill errata stating that retreated German ships may attempt to oil.)

6.3 & 6.4 Can a ship starting the turn in a port bordering 2 or more sea areas attempt to speed roll from one of those areas to another (e.g., from France to the North Sea via the South Atlantic)?
A. No.

6.4 Can Axis ships starting the turn in the Neutral Port and failing speed rolls to the North Atlantic return to Germany or France?
A. No. The instructions printed on the board sea areas refer to Section 5.7, not Section 6.4. Ships which fail a speed roll must return to their original port or one bordering the second sea area. As there is no port bordering the North Atlantic, they must return to the Neutral Port. A ship which returns to the Neutral Port as a consequence costs its side one POC. Similarly, a British ship failing a speed roll to the Barents after Turn 2 may return to England or Russia.

6.4 Can Axis ships starting the turn in France and failing speed rolls to the North Atlantic return to Germany?
A. No. Ships which fail a speed roll must return to their original port or one bordering the second sea area. As there is no port bordering the North Atlantic, they must return to France.

6.4. Does a player attempting speed rolls have to designate, before rolling, where the ships will base if they fail their speed rolls?
A. No. A player may observe the results of all speed rolls before determining where those ships failing their rolls must base.

6.4, 15.7 & 17.2 Can Axis ships starting the turn in the Neutral Port and failing speed rolls to the Mediterranean on Turn 8 after Italian navy defection rolls return to Italy?
A. Yes. Italy remains an Axis port on Turn 8 even after Italian navy defection rolls.

7.1 May a player refuse to fire in a combat round to avoid disabling a ship he hopes to sink in a later combat round?
A. Yes, but the target is not considered fired upon for screening purposes in this case (see answer to 11.6 below).

7.2 May German or Italian ships disabled in the North Atlantic go to France?
A. Yes, on turns 2 through 6.

7.6 If a carrier receives damage equal to its defense factor, thus losing its airstrike capability, must it be fully repaired to regain its airstrike capability or will partial repairs suffice?
A. Partial repairs will suffice.

7.6 & 8.3 Does a carrier still have its full ASW capacity even when it has lost its airstrike capacity due to damage?
A. Yes.

8.1 Can eliminated U-boats be returned to the game as reinforcements?
A. Yes.

9.5 & 10.5 Section 9.5 says that "ships and U-boats disabled . . . which return to port are not considered in the port at the time of the airstrike and thus may not be attacked there." Does this imply that 10.5 is wrong and U-boats may be attacked by airstrikes if they stay in port?
A. No. U-boats may not be attacked by airstrikes under any circumstances.

10 Must a player predesignate all ships as targets of airstrikes, or can he review the results of each attempt before rolling another attack?
A. He may review the results of one attack before rolling another. Rule 10.2 states only that "Targets must be specifically stated before each die roll." However, every airstrike must be against a different ship.

10.2 Rule 10.2 states that a ship can be attacked once (one die) by air. What about one ship in port? Is only one die roll allowed or three (the attack strength of LBA)?
A. Ships in port may also only be attacked by one die. The additional airstrike factors are lost.

11.6 Can a ship with an attack factor of 0 "fire" upon another ship so as to fulfill the "screening" requirement that would allow another ship to fire on a more valuable target?
A. No - ships must have a usable Attack Factor and must actually roll dice to "fire" for screening purposes. Also, to reach opposing carriers, you must fire on all screening ships in the current round of combat.

12 After a round of pursuit has been completed, can the disengaging player further split a group of fleeing ships?
A. Yes. However, he cannot recombine previously separated groups.

12.3 & 14.8 Can a convoy pursue a fleeing German ship and still be screened when firing?
A. Yes.

12.5 If a group of ships is pursuing, can an individual ship break off pursuit, or must the entire group discontinue the pursuit?
A. Individual ships may discontinue pursuit at the end of any round.

13 Can British ships repair in the United States?
A. Yes - on turn 4 or thereafter. (Note that this is contrary to an explicit statement in Section 2.7 which states that the U.S. port is available immediately.)

13 & 14.4 At the end of its turn in the North Atlantic, can a convoy return to the United States to repair?
A. No. After its turn in the North Atlantic, it must either move to the Barents or put into England for 1 POC.

13 & 14.7 Can a convoy which has been disabled to the USA repair before sailing again?
A. Yes. However, it may not voluntarily return to port to repair.

13 & 15.2 If a damaged Russian ship rolls to see if it can move, may it then repair in Leningrad?
A. Yes. The Allied player may observe both Russian die rolls before deciding whether to move or repair either ship. Russian ships need not move merely because a 5 or 6 was rolled.

3.1 & 16.1 Can ships which were successfully oiled at the end of one turn and then placed in a port the next turn be repaired on that turn?
A. No. Relocating them from At Sea to a port is considered moving them.

14.3 Can convoys remain at sea indefinitely so as to use their ASW capability?
A. No. They may remain in each of the North Atlantic and Barents for one turn only. After their turn in the North Atlantic, they must either move to the Barents or put into England for 1 POC. After their turn in the Barents, they must put into Russia for 3 POC. If disabled, after returning to the U.S. they may again spend one turn in each of the North Atlantic and the Barents. (Note that this is contrary to strategies mentioned in some articles in the General.)

14.4 If a convoy in the Barents successfully disengages (that is, outruns its pursuers), may it put into Russia for 3 POC?
A. Yes. If it is disabled, however, it must return to the U.S.